Understandably many of the dementia-friendly musical activities and services listed on this map have been postponed, some have moved their offer virtually. Please contact the provider for further details.

Back

Music and Dementia: Creating a Sonic Haven – Equality and Connection - a 2-part, 6-hour Workshop Part 1 (3-hours): Sunday 21 February, 18:00 GMT (10:00am PST; 12pm CST; 1:00pm EST) Part 2 (3-hours): Sunday 28 February, 18:00 GMT (10:00am PST;

What you will learn:

A deeper understanding of why and how to use music more effectively to encourage engagement and enrich the wellbeing of people living with dementia and related cognitive conditions – and those who are in care or supporting roles.
Topics include:

Understanding dementia from a research/medical, and experiential perspective
Repertoire: How to determine where to start with familiar music and how to open this up into the vast amount of potential repertoire available
Improvisation - use of modes-rhythm-pitch
Entrainment and the Iso-Principle: I realise you have learned about this, but not, from feedback I have received, in terms of directly using these invaluable tools - particularly when encountering agitated/anxious/apathetic listeners
Additional tools specific to dementia (but useable with all listeners)
Time for questions and discussion specific to each registrant
Tips on ways to practice your instrument(s) towards improving your ability to engage with listeners

Who can benefit:


This is an opportunity for all who wish to learn more about this topic. People with or without a music background, therapeutic musicians, music therapists, unpaid/professional carers, friends and families of people who are living with dementia are all invited to attend this workshop. There will be a theoretical overview and experiential component, as well as plenty of opportunities for questions and discussion. Materials and links will also be provided for further exploration.

Facilitated by: Dr Claire Garabedian PhD, CMP

A Certificate of Attendance will be awarded to each attendee at the conclusion of part 2 of the workshop.

Date/Time:

Part 1 (3-hours): Sunday 21 February, 18:00 GMT

(10:00am PST; 12:00pm CST; 1:00pm EST)

Part 2 (3-hours): Sunday 28 February, 18:00 GMT

(10:00am PST; 12:00pm CST; 1:00pm EST)



Where: Zoom (please register for details)

Workshop Fee: *$175/£150 via PayPal

If you are unable to pay via PayPal, please contact Claire directly at Claire@DrClaireGarabedian.com to discuss alternative options.

This workshop had a substantial waiting list last time so don’t miss out as it is capped at 16 registrants!

To book your place, please complete the form below and click on the large red button below that.

For additional information please email: Claire@DrClaireGarabedian.com

*There is a limited amount of scholarship money available towards reducing the registration fee – please contact Claire directly at Claire@DrClaireGarabedian.com

Benefits:
  • Lowers anxiety
  • Reduces loneliness
  • Involves carers
  • Enhancing spiritual activity
  • Social connections – supporting relationships
  • Maintenance or development of identity and self
  • Facilitating communication
  • Pleasure and enjoyment
  • Contributing to a creative outcome
  • Lowers agitation
  • Improves memory
  • Improves cognitive skills
  • Bereavement support
  • Self expression
  • Creative expression and stimulation
  • Cognitive stimulation
  • Motivation
  • Physical engagement
Phases:
  • Living well
  • Pre-diagnosis
  • Diagnosis
  • Post diagnosis – early years
  • Post diagnosis – later years
  • End of life
Amenities:
  • No Amenities